A Cup, a Cup, a Cup Fruit Salad

If you have a child eager to help in the kitchen like I do, this recipe is ideal.  It’s so simple–a cup of this, a cup of that. Your only problem will be insisting that they wait a few hours for the salad to chill and flavors to meld.  I like to bring this fruit salad to salad themed potlucks to add a little variety to the buffet. I also pack it in the girls lunch box with an ice pack.  They can tell their friends that they made it themselves!

by Elizabeth Savoie Dronet

Ingredients

1 cup shredded sweetened coconut (Store the leftover in the fridge.)
1 cup miniature marshmallows, plus a few to give the kids now since they can’t eat the salad until later
1 cup pineapple tidbits, drained
1 cup mandarine oranges, drained (I cheat and use the whole 15 oz can.)
1 cup sour cream

Gently mix, cover, and chill for several hours.

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Lunch Box, Salads, Vegetarian

2 responses to “A Cup, a Cup, a Cup Fruit Salad

  1. Jennifer Simpson

    The title of this recipe reminds me of Steel Magnolias…a cuppa, cuppa, cuppa! LOL
    I also wanted to tell you that I used your cinnamon roll recipe to make King Cakes with this year instead of ordering them. They turned out sooo delicious!

    • Me too Jenny C! That’s why I named it cup a cup a cup. The original name was 5 cup fruit salad, but it just didn’t have the right ring to it. What a great idea for the king cake. I’ll have to add that to the post. Did you use colored icing or sugars?

Leave a comment